Flight Plannig 101

A place for rescues to chat about rescue work, animals, transports etc.
flyboy64E

Flight Plannig 101

Post by flyboy64E » Thu Feb 06, 2014 12:17 pm

Hi there I am a volunteer pilot for PnP. I’m not sure if this has been discussed before but for those rescuers who are not pilots please take a few moments to read this post.

I have been contacted many times about a transport but usually something comes up and it does not happen. Some of the issues are the length of the transport and determining exactly where the pickup and drop off will be.

I have two links below to help rescuers with panning long cross country transports. Keep in mind that most pilots are willing to fly up to about 250-300 miles total round trip to do a rescue. Also not that most small airplanes have about 4 to 5 hours of flying time on average. The first site will assist you in finding the airport identifier this is a 3 or 4 alphanumeric code which allows pilots to identify an airport and program GPS flight plans etc. The second link is a site that will plot a line between points entered. SkyVector will show you the navigation charts used by pilots to fly around. It may look confusing and intimidating at first but don’t worry.

1. Enter the name of your city where the transport is to begin on the first page to get possible airports near your city.
2. Take the airport identifier and enter that into the flight plan on the second page(Skyvector).
3. Repeat this for the destination of the transport.
4. The second page (Skyvector) will then draw a magenta line between the two points and will give you the distance and the time required to fly between the two points.
5. You can then play with the route and break it down into mangle bites that pilots will be willing to help you with. It uses rubber banding that allows you to drag the route to a particular airport.