Good question. The reason this is still showing is because when rescues go back to mark it DONE, they have to open their original request message, not a replied to message, or it won't be moved off the current request board. We have volunteers who move the DONE and CANCELLED requests but first the icon has to show up on the board index and it won't do that unless it is edited/marked in the correct manner. Caroline came back and marked it DONE and added an adorable photo, thank you Caroline, but she didn't realize the initial topic request is the one you have to edit.
After 30 days all requests are auto dropped from the board whether they are marked or not.
The instructions on the proper way to edit messages to DONE or CANCELLED is in the FAQ section on each page of the forum board. I encourage everyone to please take a few minutes and read both the pilots and the rescues FAQ section. There is quite a bit of good info there.