Safe altitude for pet transport

Guidelines and tips from Pilots N Paws members to help with rescue transports.
bgsgomi

Safe altitude for pet transport

Post by bgsgomi » Sat Feb 08, 2014 12:22 am

I am a pilot, new to PNP, and am wondering what the recommendations from other pilots or any veterinarian's on this board are relating to safe altitudes for pet transport. My plane is not pressurized, and living on the west coast means most flights north or east require flight at or above 10,000' MSL. I have read the varying opinions found from a simple google search, but I value the input of those doing this regularly. Thank you.

admin
Site Admin
Foster?: Yes
Pilot?: No
Distance willing to fly one way: 0

Re: Safe altitude for pet transport

Post by admin » Sat Feb 08, 2014 9:13 am

Welcome new pilot and thanks for volunteering! I am sure pilots will chime in and share their experiences with you. A few things to consider:

1. Health condition, age, and breed of an animal with regards to altitude.
a. Puppies really should not be flown if they are under 3 weeks of age but that being said, this has been done but with very slow ascent, descent and lower altitudes 5k and under. Their lungs are not developed well enough yet to handle extreme pressure. Many times rescues will risk sending younger, if the pilot is willing to transport, because if not they will be euthanized by the end of the day.
b. Pregnant dogs close to term may go into labor from extreme pressure as well, just like people.
c. Snub nosed dogs and cats already have some difficulty breathing. Add to that pressure, heat or cold, and it is more difficult. You can help with the temps by using covered ice packs or warm covered bread warmers, but only the pilot can control the altitude.