New to PnP

A place for pilots to chat and exchange information about their planes, flying, transports, etc....

New to PnP

Postby kangmic on Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:36 am

Hi Guys,

I am new to PnP; heard it from my flight instructor. Have any tips/suggestions? What forms/procedures do I need to fill out/do? Please let me know.
Thanks.
Michael K.
C172; KPDK; VFR/IFR
kangmic

Re: New to PnP

Postby mikegreen on Sun Jul 03, 2011 11:06 am

Nothing official to actually fly the dogs... for tax deduction reasons, you'll want to get the form (stick post at top of the request forum), or make up your own system of documenting everything in case you get audited (eek).

Check the forums, setup the alerts to get emails if something gets posted within 150 miles of you, and then just post back to the forum and coordinate.

I'd recommend doing a single leg, simple trip your first time... I did a middle leg of a 4-puppy 3-leg trip with bad winter weather..... wasn't the most stress free first PNP trip!

Also, you can search for pilots in your area - might be worth it to go ride with one and see how it all flows.. Also check out the crate/belting options - I have a soft sided crate for dogs up to 40lbs, and anything bigger gets leash+seatbelted to the back seat... but there are other options - a 172 is pretty spacious. If you put a dog in the baggage area (in a create, preferably) make sure to tint or somehow cover the sun so they dont get hot.

Regards,

Mike
-----
Cessna 182RG, IFR
Based KMGY, Dayton, OH
mikegreen

Re: New to PnP

Postby RickG on Wed Jul 06, 2011 7:55 am

Michael: